Gaming

Sony Announces PlayStation State of Play Event for This Week

Sony has announced that a PlayStation State of Play event will take place on February 23 and share new details on Suicide Squad: Kill the Justice League and more.

Announced in a tweet (below), the event will take place at 1pm Pacific / 4pm Eastern / 9pm UK (so 7am AEST on February 24) and can be viewed on PlayStation’s YouTube and Twitch channels.

Though it didn’t say exactly what it would be showing, Sony has confirmed that five brand new PlayStation VR 2 games will be shown off at the State of Play alongside indie and third party reveals.

The main attraction will perhaps be a 15 minute gameplay showcase from Suicide Squad: Kill the Justice League though, which will share new game mechanics and updates on Rocksteady Studios’ latest.

Having stepped away somewhat from the likes of E3 and some other big gaming conferences, Sony has reserved a lot of its big announcements for State of Play events like this one.

The last one took place in September and saw Tekken 8 officially revealed, a new trailer shared for God of War: Ragnarok, Like a Dragon: Ishin revealed for the west, and much more.

State of Play events have also been used to showcase other PlayStation blockbusters including Final Fantasy 7 Remake, The Last of Us Part 2, Ghost of Tsushima, and more. IGN has even put together a list of the biggest and best announcements since the State of Play’s inception in 2019.

Ryan Dinsdale is an IGN freelancer and acting UK news editor. He’ll talk about The Witcher all day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *